If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Mississippi put a dent in your wedding plans. Marriage licenses are issued by each county's Circuit Clerk. Use the Mississippi.gov clerk list to locate your Circuit Clerk.
Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Mississippi marriage license. Get this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date. Requirements may vary as each county in Mississippi could have their requirements.
In Mississippi, you will need to show a picture ID such as a driver's license. You can also use Military ID, DD 214, or a document that shows evidence of your age, such as a life insurance policy or school records. Having your Social Security card and birth certificate may also be helpful.
You will also need to know your parents' addresses and your mothers' maiden name.
Neither of you needs to be a resident of Mississippi. Mississippi is a great state for a destination wedding!
Most counties in Mississippi only require that you know the date (mm/dd/yy) and how your last marriage ended and that you sign an affidavit at the time you apply that all information you have provided is true and correct.
The Harrison County website states that if your divorce was within the last six months, you will need to bring proof of the divorce that can be left with the Clerk.
On July 1, 2012, Senate Bill 2851 became law that removed the three-day waiting period in Mississippi.
As of July 2, 2019, the cost of a marriage license in Mississippi is $38.
As of July 1, 2012, there is no requirement to have a premarital blood test for syphilis.
Covenant Marriage Option
No. Mississippi doesn't offer this option at this time.
Cousin Marriages and Proxy Marriages
Common Law Marriages
No. Additionally, Mississippi has a law, Section 93-1-3, prohibiting using the marriage laws of another state to circumvent Mississippi's laws.
No. Section 93-1-1, Mississippi Code of 1972: (2) Any marriage between persons of the same gender is prohibited and null and void from the beginning. Any marriage between persons of the same gender that is valid in another jurisdiction does not constitute a legal or valid marriage in Mississippi. In November 2004, voters passed a constitutional amendment banning same-sex marriage.
Parental consent is needed in Mississippi if under 21 years of age. If parents or guardians do not give consent at the time of application, they will be notified via certified mail. The marriage application will be held for three days.
Marriage licenses cannot be issued to males under 17 or females under 15 years of age unless the parents petition the judge to waive the minimum age requirements.
Clergy, mayors, local Board of Supervisors members, and judges of the state of Mississippi Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit court, Chancery court, Justice Court, or County court.
Once your marriage license has been issued, the license is valid indefinitely in Mississippi.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage
Mississippi Vital Records
P.O. Box 1700
Jackson, MS 39215-1700
Phone: (601) 576-7450
Note: We are not attorneys and the articles on the site are not to be construed as legal advice. Verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans. When in doubt, seek legal counsel.