How to Get Married in Oklahoma


Photo by KT Merry

The first thing you will need to do to get married in Oklahoma is to get your marriage license at a county clerk's office. For a list of County Clerks in the state of Oklahoma, click here. There are also a number of laws and requirements you'll want to know about before you apply as well so you're prepared when you go. It's best to take care of this legal aspect within a few weeks of your wedding date.

Residency and ID Requirements

You do not have to be a resident of Oklahoma to get married in the state. The license is also valid for ceremonies that take place anywhere in Oklahoma.

In most counties, you only need one valid ID that proves your age. This may be an unexpired driver's license, state-issued ID, a birth certificate with a raised seal, or a passport.

Previous Marriage

Your divorce must be final before you are allowed to remarry. Unless you want to marry your ex-spouse, you may not get married for a period of six months after the divorce decree is filed. While copies of divorce papers are not required in most Oklahoma counties, having the divorce decree with you can't hurt.

Covenant Marriage Option

Oklahoma does not allow a covenant marriage option.

Waiting Period

There is no waiting period in Oklahoma unless you are a minor or have been recently divorced.


In general, bring cash to pay for your license. Checks, credit cards, and money orders are typically not accepted in most counties. It will cost $50 to get an Oklahoma marriage license.

Couples who show proof of attending a state-approved premarital counseling course will be charged only $5 for a marriage license. Check with the county clerk to make sure the course facilitator has been approved in order to qualify for this reduced fee.

Other Tests

As of November 1, 2004, you do not need to have a blood test.

Proxy Marriages

Proxy marriages are not allowed in Oklahoma. Both parties must be present to apply for a license and at the wedding.

Cousin Marriages

Oklahoma will not allow you to marry a first cousin or any relative closer than that. The exception is if the relationship is only by marriage, though a stepparent cannot marry a stepchild, either.

According to Oklahoma Statute, Title 43, Section 2, the state will recognize a cousin marriage formed in another state where it is legal.

Common-Law Marriages

Your common-law marriage will be recognized in Oklahoma if it was created before November 1, 1998. However, there is controversy in Oklahoma over this legislation and whether or not common-law marriages are valid in the state. Most counties will refer you to an attorney for legal advice on the matter.

Same-Sex Marriages

When the U.S. Supreme Court denied a review of Oklahoma's same-sex marriage case in October 2014, gay marriages were allowed to begin there immediately. Following that, in June of 2015, the Court made a decision in Obergefell vs. Hodges that found it to be unconstitutional for any state to deny same-sex couples the right to marry.

As of 2018, Oklahoma still has a statute on record (Title 43-3.1) regarding gay marriage. It became effective in 1997 and states, "A marriage between persons of the same gender performed in another state shall not be recognized as valid and binding in this state as of the date of the marriage."

Under 18

If either of you is 16 or 17, you must have the consent of at least one parent or legal guardian in order to marry. That person must be present at the courthouse, provide their valid identification, and you must have your certified birth certificate. Minors must wait three days (72 hours) before the marriage license is valid.

A person who is under the age of 16 may not get married in Oklahoma without a court order.


Any ordained or licensed member of the clergy and justices of the peace may perform a wedding ceremony. There may be an additional fee for having your wedding ceremony conducted by a judge.

Officiants (both residents and non-residents) need to have on file with the court clerk a copy of their ordination credentials in order to officiate weddings.

Marriage License Rules

The marriage license may be used anywhere in Oklahoma and is valid for 30 days. You need to have a wedding ceremony at that time. Additionally, the license must be returned to the same county clerk office for recording no more than 30 days from the date it was issued. Failing to meet this deadline means you will need to reapply for a license and pay the fee again.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage

Ask about getting a certified copy of your marriage certificate at the county clerk's office. It may not automatically be sent to you after your marriage has been recorded and some counties may have you pick one up after a certain period of time. You may also be required to pay a small fee for each copy, particularly if you are not newly married.

Verifying Information

This article is only intended to offer guidance on the basic marriage laws and requirements in Oklahoma. State laws do change often and counties may have their own requirements. It's always good to check with your local county clerk to verify the information prior to making your wedding plans.

Additionally, this information should not be used as legal advice. If you have questions, consult an attorney in your area.

Related Stories