One of the advantages to getting married in Alaska is that you can have a friend or relative perform your marriage ceremony. Beautiful locations are another bonus for choosing to have your wedding in Alaska.
In Juneau and Anchorage, marriage licenses are issued by the Alaska State Vital Records Section. Couples in other towns can obtain licenses from their local county courts. A list of courts by county can be found here. You can also start the license application process online. After completing and signing the form, the couple needs to return it in person, with a $60 marriage license fee, to either the Vital Records Section or their local county court.
Both parties must present in person a government-issued photo ID, such as a driver’s license, state-issued ID, passport, military ID, or Tribal/BIA card.
You do not have to be a resident of Alaska to be married there.
If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.
Alaska does not offer covenant marriages.
Couples can get married three (3) business days after receiving their marriage license.
The cost of a marriage license in the state of Alaska is $60.
No blood or medical tests required.
Common Law Marriage:
Same Sex Marriages:
A certified copy of a birth certificate is required. In addition, both parents must be present with identification, or if you have a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.
A minister, priest, recognized leader, or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state, a commissioned officer of the Salvation Army, marriage commissioner, or a judicial officer of the state.
Additionally, Alaska allows a friend or relative to perform your marriage ceremony.
"Under Alaska Statute 25.05.261(a)(2) 1, anyone can perform your marriage ceremony, including a friend or relative, if they first obtain a marriage commissioner appointment from an Alaskan court as authorized by AS 25.05.081.2 The person should be 18 years of age or older, and does not need to be a resident of Alaska or the United States in order to perform the ceremony."
Source: Alaska Court System: Marriage Commissioner Information
A marriage license is valid for ninety (90) days anywhere in Alaska. If a couple does not get married within that time period, the state will require a new license.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
Bureau of Vital Statistics Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
5441 Commercial Boulevard
Juneau, Alaska 99811
Phone: (907) 465-3391
State and borough marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with your local vital statistics office or borough official before making any wedding or travel plans.