WHY WE LOVE IT
- Tahoe is ideal for outdoorsy types; the water sports and ski resorts will keep you busy.
- It's perfect for adventure seekers—couples who like the beach but also like parasailing above it.
- Sublime scenery, in the mountains, on the lake and in the forest.
- Casinos, shopping and fine dining add a sophisticated layer to your experience.
- Sightseeing at low-key yet engaging historical attractions like Vikingsholm, Tahoe Classic Yacht and the Tallac Historic Site.
WHEN TO GO
Tahoe bristles with action year-round, though it's busiest in the summer and winter; you just have to figure out what sort of adventure you're after. If snuggling up on a private sandy beach while sipping on a pina colada is your thing, come in the summer. If you're into skiing or snowmobiling—or just like the snow—winter's the time to come.
WHAT TO PACK
Summer: swimsuits, casual-chic clothing. Tahoe is known for its relaxed atmosphere, so don’t deck yourself out.
Winter: Snow gear, including warm socks, sweaters and jackets. Bring your own ski gear or rent it at one of the many ski shops.
WHAT TO BUY
The views here are unbelievable, so why not take one home with you: Tahoe is famed for its nature photographers and landscape painters, and you'll find their works in the many galleries. Native American jewelry and precious stones, gems and fossils from the area are also for sale.
Visit tahoechamber.com for information about lodging and wedding options in the Tahoe area. There are also an events calendar and links to Web sites of area restaurants and sports-activities vendors.
GETTING MARRIED IN LAKE TAHOE
California: No blood test or waiting period required. The couple must be at least 18 years of age and have identification. The fee is $60 for a public license and $53 for a private license, which is not on the public record without a subsequent court order. The license is available at any California county recorder-clerk's office or the El Dorado County Recorder-Clerk's Office. For more information, visit the El Dorado County Recorder-Clerk's Office in South Lake Tahoe at 3368 Lake Tahoe Blvd., Suite 108, or call 530-573-3409.
Nevada: No blood test, no waiting period. The fee is $55. The couple must be at least 18 years of age and bring identification. Couples ages 16 to 17 must have parents or legal guardians present or bring notarized written permission. A Nevada marriage license can be obtained seven days a week at the Douglas County Lake Tahoe Administration Building at 175 Highway 50, Stateline, Nevada. For more information, call 775-586-7290.