Fools rush in...

Online Users: 1,290 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 13

MissLibre Posts : 3 Registered: 3/22/10
Fools rush in...
Posted: Mar 22, 2010 9:36 AM

I'm a newbie, I apologize if I'm placing this topic in the wrong forum but could use some opinions and thoughts on my situation.

I am currently engaged to a wonderful man who I've been dating for 5
months but have known for most of my life. Our families are great
friends, and although I dont have a ring, pretty much everyone we know
is aware of our intentions to get married. We've set a date, picked a
location and photographer (both with deposits) told our pastor (same
church) and our families are overall thrilled.

Before I got with him however I was dating someone who I thought was
the love of my life "Jay". He's a wonderful guy, but he was white and I come
from a traditonal Indian family who would have a hard time with it.
Also he is a final year medical student and I never felt like he was committed
to me. Anyway he has now matched to a residency outside of the state
and is asking me to get married to him and move away with him. I really
am terrified that I'm making the wrong decision. I love the man I'm
engaged to, but the way you would love a dear friend. If I were to
break off my engagement I would be cut off from my family, my parents
would be humiliated, it would be dramatic and the stuff of soap operas.
But now I'm left with two impossible choices, either go through with my marriage and break ties with Jay forever, or break ties with my family and become the pariah of the community, and also break my parents hearts, I think my fiancee would recover eventually.

I really can't get Jay out of my head or heart, I thought I could but I'm now in a different country on vacation from the both of them and what am I doing? Finding a forum to communicate this on.

Yes I'm an idiot. I just wish the last 6 months could have played out differently.

Edited by: MissLibre on Mar 22, 2010 9:38 AM