Commitment Ceremony

Online Users: 1,302 guest(s), 2 user(s). Replies: 53

Pointer Posts : 8 Registered: 3/22/08
Commitment Ceremony
Posted: Jan 7, 2009 8:19 PM

This is my first time on here, and after reading throughout here, I feel confident writing this. Ok here is what has happened. I am officially engaged, we have set a date,and we are planning a wedding however, we do not feel the need to sign a legal document, to say we are married. (We have both been married before, we are older, and there are no legal reasons for not getting the document signed) I am changing my last name to his, and we have talked to our attorney about all the legal aspects. Our wills are done, so it protects us from all the negative stuff that can happen. We have told our children exactly what are plans are, and they are very excited for us. Our families, and friends as well. However, this is my problem, I know it is not traditionally done this way, but there are a few people,(such as his aunt) that are making a big fuss over that this not a wedding, it is a commitment, and that is it. Yet when I asked the minister that is performing the ceremony, he told me a commitment ceremony is the same as a wedding.The only difference for him is he is not signing a legal document, so it will not be recongnized through the goverment. How do I handle his aunt that I truly no longer want at my wedding?

Live life like there is no tomorrow, and love like you never have before.

Edited by: Pointer on Jan 7, 2009 8:20 PM

Edited by: Pointer on Jan 7, 2009 8:22 PM

bride4life Posts : 499 Registered: 3/28/06
Re: Commitment Ceremony
Posted: Jan 7, 2009 8:30 PM Go to message in response to: Pointer