Airplane travel with your wedding dress?

Online Users: 1,312 guest(s), 3 user(s). Replies: 19
Airplane travel with your wedding dress?
Posted: Feb 18, 2007 7:12 AM

Hi, I am getting married in Aug in Mexico.  I am bring a formal satin A-line wedding dress.  Has anyone traveled with a wedding dress?  How did it go?

LynnetteCool

adamscookiemons... Posts : 306 Registered: 2/8/07
Re: Airplane travel with your wedding dress?
Posted: Feb 18, 2007 9:48 PM Go to message in response to: Guest

I used to work at a major airport and I saw tons of ladies wearing their wedding dresses on planes...that is something I would definately NOT reccomend....but if you are just bringing it with you I was told that you should roll up the dress and put it in a separate bag or suitcase....but I'm not an expert so I guess it would probably be a good idea to ask the bridal salon.

Posted: Feb 18, 2007 10:59 PM Go to message in response to: Guest

I will be traveling with my wedding dress. I bought this Samsonite garment travel bag:

It folds up and has handles, which is great.

Its 50" long and 24" wide. I know that it is black, but I will be putting the dress in a cotton like sheet and then inside this bag. I don't think that the "black" will effect the dress for only a few hours trip. As soon as I arrive to my destination, I will take the dress out of the bag (just to be safe, lol)

Posted: Feb 19, 2007 12:20 AM Go to message in response to: Guest

Thanks for the responses.  I will definitely NOT wear the dress..haha!!  My bridal shop sold me a garment bag just like the one pictured in this post.  I was wondering...can I carry it on the plane?  The bridal shop said that is what I should do and I was wondering if anyone had had any problems carrying on their wedding dress.  I just cannot see my dress going through with the luggage!!

LynnetteCool

Posted: Feb 19, 2007 2:35 AM Go to message in response to: Guest