Unique Idea for Save the Date invitations

Online Users: 1,328 guest(s), 2 user(s). Replies: 7

sflbride Posts : 2 Registered: 8/3/11
Unique Idea for Save the Date invitations
Posted: Aug 15, 2011 9:56 AM

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting, but I've been visiting the site for a few weeks now, and I've been coming up with lots of ideas for my wedding!

Well right now, I am working on my save the date invites that I will be sending out to about 50 people on my guest list. My fiance and I have been discussing it though, and we both agree that we want to send out something a bit more unique than the standard post card or fridge magnet. After a few silly ideas (singing telegrams?), my fiance came up with an idea to mail out flash drives, custom printed with our names, the date and location of the wedding, as well as including our engagement photos and an invitation video on the usb drive itself. I even found a website that specializes in customizing the drives for weddings! http://www.usbmemorydirect.com/custom-usb-wedding-favors-knot.htm?knotwedding

Now, I really like the idea, but some of my friends who I've mentioned it to have been less enthusiastic. They expressed concern over the older guests (like my grandparents) who might not know what to do with a usb drive. My fiance says that the photo slideshow can play automatically and that all anyone would need to know how to do is plug a flash drive into a computer. Plus the majority of our guests are younger than 60 and are pretty tech savvy.

So, my questions to you ladies:
What do you think of the idea?? Would you use the flash drive or put it on your keychain? Do you think our guests will appreciate the extra work? I'm right on the fence with this idea, I could really use a few fresh perspectives on it.

Thanks! :D

Aunt Posts : 794 Registered: 12/31/10
Re: Unique Idea for Save the Date invitations
Posted: Aug 15, 2011 11:02 AM Go to message in response to: sflbride

Dear SF,