Invited to shower but not wedding

Online Users: 1,308 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 13

FrancieElaine Posts : 654 Registered: 6/26/09
Invited to shower but not wedding
Posted: Mar 12, 2010 6:35 PM

Ya'll know I am not an expert on etiquette. So, I will ask the experts. I have been invited to attend a surprise bridal shower given by a very good friend of mine. The bride is my friend's sister, who I am friends with but not close to. My two younger sisters have also been invited to this surprise shower.

The wedding is going to be small and family only. I am sure we won't be invited to that. The bride to be did mention having a bbq sometime after the wedding to invite "everybody" but she has never said we would be invited to that.

I am just wondering what ya'll think about this. What type of gift should I take? I love my friend, and I don't mind atttending a shower when I am not inviting to a wedding. But I feel a little awkward not knowing how much I should spend on a gift. Please give me some advice!

Francie Elaine, The Bride Whisperer

www.bride-whisperer.com

http://twitter.com/BrideWhispering

http://bridewhisperer.blogspot.com  

auntofthebride Posts : 9,354 Registered: 4/2/06
Re: Invited to shower but not wedding
Posted: Mar 12, 2010 7:14 PM Go to message in response to: FrancieElaine

Dear FE,

The bride and her sister are out of line having a shower and inviting people not invited to the wedding. That's "not done".

"You're good enough to provide a gift, but not good enough to witness our ceremony."

If you still want to attend, great, but if I were you I'd give an inexpensive token gift. $10 max.

HappyGirl13 Posts : 1,298 Registered: 4/21/08
Posted: Mar 12, 2010 7:29 PM Go to message in response to: auntofthebride

I often agree with AOTB, but I disagree here.