Travel Agents

Online Users: 0 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 11

WinterWonderlan... Posts : 658 Registered: 8/23/08
Travel Agents
Posted: Mar 15, 2009 3:50 AM

I have no previous experience with travel agents, but unless we decide to do a cruise for our honeymoon, I'm sure we'll be using one. My question is, how do travel agents get paid? Do they charge the customer, work on some type of compensation, etc? If they do charge us, is it like a percentage or something?

PharmToxGirl Posts : 5,446 Registered: 8/30/07
Re: Travel Agents
Posted: Mar 15, 2009 9:43 AM Go to message in response to: WinterWonderlan...

Most travel agents do NOT charge you. Unless it's like a nominal booking fee of like $35.

They get paid by the places theat they book you - they often have access to deals that you do not and they get paid booking you there.

I LOVED my travel agent. And I really recommend using one and getting travel insurance. We missed our connecting flight out of Miami, so as we raced to the airline counter, I called her and she started making calls for us. She confirmed that the flight we were placed on was the earliest one leaving, she called the place that was taking us to our hotel to let them know we were on a later flight, and she called our hotel to make sure they held our room.

Another couple in the same predictament, they had booked through expedia, they couldnt' get a hold of ANYONE at their hotel and they then had to worry the whole time on the flight.

Good luck!!

HappyGirl13 Posts : 1,298 Registered: 4/21/08
Posted: Mar 15, 2009 11:18 AM Go to message in response to: PharmToxGirl

We used a travel agent for our honeymoon and I recommend it. And PharmTox is right--they get paid by the places that they book you with. But it's not like that swayed her toward recommending any one travel program or the other, which was nice, too. We were looking for a reasonably-priced trip to Belize, she offered us like 4 different options for Belize tour operators, and we chose.