Being financially ready to get engaged/married?

Online Users: 1,274 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 11

AmyJames Posts : 3 Registered: 8/15/11
Being financially ready to get engaged/married?
Posted: Aug 15, 2011 10:28 PM

In a freshman psychology course I took in college I learned that a large factor in marriages failing was the struggle with money. Of course there are many other factors, but from reading things online since then, it certianly appears that financial security is (and quite logically too) a very important part of "being ready". I am now a college graduate, 23 years old, about to start my career job, and have about $12,000 saved up. I know that isn't a ton of money, but I feel that it is a comfortable sum of money to being starting the "real world" with. My boyfriend of 5 years on the other hand has been working the past 3 years, has saved up about $20,000 all while making mortgage payments and paying bills. Luckily neither of us have school debts, but we are both working hard to save up money (not just for marriage of course). Pretty much every penny I could save from my writing I have saved since I was 16 (I freelance write for magazines and journals).

I am currently living with my boyfriend, as it helps me save money not having to pay rent, and not having 2 seperate sets of bills is nice as well. Both our cars are paid off (and should hopefully last us for little while longer) and we live quite modestly, though happily. However in a recent conversation discussing my finances with my mom, it was brought to my attention that I'll go through all my savings and a large chunk of my boyfriends' if we were to get married right now. I'm fairly possitive I could plan a very modest, yet lovely wedding for far less than $32,000, and a honeymoon doesn't have to be expensive either, but past that I am not sure how much money is considered "secure" enough to get married (completely speaking from the financial side of marriage, not any other factor)?