Finally found him....!

Online Users: 1,313 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 6

At4798 Posts : 4 Registered: 2/23/11
Finally found him....!
Posted: Feb 25, 2011 5:43 PM

Hi folks,

I'm new to Brides.com thought I'd stop in and say hi (I've been stealthing through the forum for a couple of days!).

I was one of those people that didn't really date... went on a couple of dates but knew within the first ten minutes those guys weren't for me. Meeting my fiance (online) was absolutely and completely different, like I knew it would be (though I never imagined I'd manage to find someone!).

My fiance is American, and I'm English. We don't have a date as yet, and until we get final approval we can't set one, when I re-enter the states we'll have 3 months to marry. It makes planning stuff... interesting, to say the least. Plans keep changing... intially it was California (most of his family are there) but being honest with ourselves we realised we really didn't want to do that. Our wedding will now take place in Maryland, probably quite a small celebration. Though I'm hoping not Justice of the Peace (I mean no offense if thats the way you have done things, its just not for me).

Anyway... I'm rambling now. I just wanted to stop in and say hi, congratulations to both the engaged and the married around here, and good luck with your plans - I hope they don't get too stressful and out of control!

Aunt Posts : 794 Registered: 12/31/10
Re: Finally found him....!
Posted: Feb 25, 2011 6:18 PM Go to message in response to: At4798

Dear AT,

Welcome to our forum.

The immigration laws do make it tough to plan a wedding. What you can do is talk to various vendors and explain your situation. See if you can line people up for a tentative date (or range of dates), then just say "Go" when you get your visa and know when your 90-day window is.

I'd like to bet you won't be the first fiance visa bride the vendors have met. An experienced vendor should be pretty used to it.