From a photographer..to the ladies, please help

Online Users: 1,250 guest(s), 1 user(s). Replies: 16

Wildviper Posts : 6 Registered: 12/16/09
From a photographer..to the ladies, please help
Posted: Dec 11, 2010 1:16 AM

Hello All,

I am a new photographer that is looking to establish a successful wedding photography business (Surprise, Surprise!).

I need your help though. I have been reading this forum and the horrible experiences some of you have had and the polar opposite as well for sometime now.

If you can help me with these questions, it would really go a long ways to me understanding the needs of a bride.

1. As brides (or past brides), what do you look for in your photographer?

2. What are you looking for in your pictures? Moments? Posed portraits? What's that magic thing you look for?

3. And finally, what drives you nuts about any vendor? Service, price, attitude???

I realize Howard is the de facto standard here as the photographer and I am not trying to take over(I couldn't). I am trying to define my marketing which will define my business. So your candid help would go a long way in that endeavour. :)

Thank you.
Anand

CatStandish Posts : 2,766 Registered: 6/20/08
Re: From a photographer..to the ladies, please help
Posted: Dec 11, 2010 9:38 AM Go to message in response to: Wildviper

I used an apprentice for my wedding, and she did a great job. I actually had invited her boss as a guest to my wedding, and he did take over on a few shots -- I can tell which ones they are. Yes, I knew he took them...but in the ones that are similar (she was trying to do something, for example) that he took the camera on... I can tell which was taken by whom.

That being said, I was very satisfied overall with her work. She did a great job and I got a great value for my money.

However, there was one thing I would have liked that she didn't get -- and as a novice, I completely understand her perspective. We didn't talk about this.

Ask the bride and groom this: