Cost of Ring Anxiety

Online Users: 1,320 guest(s), 3 user(s). Replies: 30

smalltownlady Posts : 16 Registered: 8/18/10
Cost of Ring Anxiety
Posted: Aug 18, 2010 4:00 PM

My boyfriend and I have discussed marriage a lot, and we both know that's the plan. He has a plan for the proposal (he tells me). He's asked me to tell him what ring style I like and I have.

But he's all flustered about the cost of the rings. I've told him I don't care how much he spends (I don't- I don't ever want to know) and that the ring is just a symbol of our commitment.

However, thanks to several of his friends, he's gotten it in his head that he needs to spend thousands on this ring. I am a professional, and he's blue collar and his friends keep telling him that a woman in my career has to have a crazy expensive ring- but that doesn't matter to me.

But he thinks it does- that he has to impress the people I work with with the ring. Honestly- its not important to me- when he was laid off during my birthday I told him not to spend money on a gift because he couldn't afford it. He's working again now, but I don't want him going into debt for me.

I love him and he loves me and that's what matters. Any ideas on how I can convince him that he doesn't need to spend thousands?

Edited by: smalltownlady on Aug 18, 2010 4:00 PM

auntofthebride Posts : 9,354 Registered: 4/2/06
Re: Cost of Ring Anxiety
Posted: Aug 18, 2010 4:55 PM Go to message in response to: smalltownlady

dear STL,

If you want to marry this guy, you have to be able to communicate with him, honestly.

Do just that. Communicate your feelings honestly.

If he says "Oh, no, you don't really mean that.", then ask him why he would think you would lie to him about your true feelings.

PharmToxGirl Posts : 5,446 Registered: 8/30/07
Posted: Aug 18, 2010 5:07 PM Go to message in response to: smalltownlady

AOTB is right. Heck, print out what you posted here and show him.