Thinking of going back to school-on the fence- HELP!!

Online Users: 0 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 10

Brooke051609 Posts : 723 Registered: 12/31/07
Thinking of going back to school-on the fence- HELP!!
Posted: Feb 20, 2010 9:01 PM

I need some help here ladies! I need some outside perspectives. I'll give you a brief background so you know where I'm at. I'm 26 years old, turning 27 in about a month. I graduated in 2006 with a Bachelor's of Sciences degree in Animal Sciences. I started working at a small vet clinic shortly after as a veterinary assistant and found I liked the work and atmosphere. After DH graduated from college we moved and I got another vet assistant job at a larger vet hospital. After a few more moves b/c of DH's job I just got another job about 2 weeks ago at an even larger veterinary hospital but as a receptionist. After a girl leaves they'll move me back to the back as a vet assistant. OK, so that's present time. I've been toying with wanting to go back to school to get my vet tech degree. It'd make me more employable (should we move again or I want to work somewhere else), I could make more money, and I'd get to do more of what I want to do- more hands on, more medical work, more knowledge, help more.

DH and I went to a local college nearby today to look at their vet tech program. We sat and talked to an advisor, went over the program and what not. It's a 2 year associate degree. Some of my B.S. credits could transfer in and I could opt out of some of the Gen Ed classes so I wouldn't have to pay to take classes I've already taken and shorten the time of the program for me. Their are really two routes I could take- M-TH 9-12 classes or M,T,TH 6p-10p classes. You only take one class at a time but it only lasts a month. So VERY different than what I'm used to with taking 3-4 classes at a time for a quarter (10 weeks).