diy wedding dress?

Online Users: 1,267 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 5

lachapstickfana... Posts : 5 Registered: 1/7/10
diy wedding dress?
Posted: Feb 10, 2010 4:00 PM

This is my first time posting so excuse me if this is in the wrong place.

What do you all think about having your wedding dress made? My mom wants to design my dress (she has a degree in fashion but has never designed a wedding dress nor have I ever seen her design a garment) and then have it sewn by someone. She has fabric from her wedding dress that i could use which would make it really special. It is just a little scary and makes me a little nervous. But if it comes out all right it would be pretty fabulous to have a dress made just for me (and with her fabric). Did you do this or do you know someone who did? How was the process? I wrote about this on my blog in more detail if that is helpful: www.lachapstickfanatique.blogspot.com

Pictures would be soooo helpful and would really calm my nerves.

Thanks!!!

springorchid Posts : 176 Registered: 4/8/07
Re: diy wedding dress?
Posted: Feb 14, 2010 4:48 PM Go to message in response to: lachapstickfana...

Hi!

Welcome!

Having a dress made comes down to three main factors:

One: how are your mom's designs? You would have to be honest with her and talk about what you want, like etc and see what she comes up with. If you don't like what she designs, that is the end of the discussion...go buy your gown. I would suggest that you try on dresses for her to see. Think of it as shopping for parts. You like this neckline, this detail, that waist, that fabric...

Two: is there enough fabric? If not you would need to find a second fabric that could be used in conjunction with your mother's fabric. Did you dream of silk but hers was a poly-blend?