How much is too much?

Online Users: 1,268 guest(s), 1 user(s). Replies: 7

WaitingLady Posts : 25 Registered: 4/8/09
How much is too much?
Posted: Feb 3, 2010 9:01 PM

I am sorry all my posts have questions for subject lines... :(

So, I need some opinions, personal experiences, advice.... Anything to give me a little perspective.

I am a highly motivated person, I am a planner, I need to know what I am doing and where I am going, and if I don't know, it is so easy to be frustrated, which I don't deal with too well. Which is why there is a (potential) problem, or a concern at any rate.
When I graduated from college I decided to stay in the same city, because my SO was there, despite the total lack of job potential for me. We had only known each other for a few months when I realized that it was a decision that I needed to make, and I needed to make it fast. It was a big, difficult decision to make, and at the time, I struggled with this question:

How much is too much to give for a relationship whose outcome is not guaranteed?

As luck would have it, I found a (shitty dead-end) job, and have been renting a small studio apartment. I have insurance through my work, but I don't make enough to pay for my car, so my parents are helping me financially there. But otherwise, I am a (mostly) financially independent woman. Though I have hated being in limbo, this past year out of school has made me solidify my resolve to go to graduate school, and to realize that having a masters degree is the only path for me to achieve real independence.

Now the curve ball. Mr.SO hates his job, but this is a small city so finding a new one here in his field is not really likely. He also lives at his parents house. He hasn't had any of his things since his divorce. BUUUT, the company he works for is offering a big cash incentive for people to go to a new office in a different state that they are opening. For a year. So again, I am faced with the question, how much is too much?