How to deal with groom's parents who aren't ready?

Online Users: 1,249 guest(s), 1 user(s). Replies: 6

StephanieRS Posts : 9 Registered: 1/12/10
How to deal with groom's parents who aren't ready?
Posted: Jan 25, 2010 8:53 PM

I got engaged this past September and now that I graduated college I am beginning to plan for the wedding. We have decided to want to aim for a date around May of 2011 (so it is still a little while off). I'm the type of person who wants to start planning, seeing what is out there, etc. My parents have already let me know what they are contributing to the wedding (I thank them tremendously!) so that I can start getting a budget together.

The last thing I want to do is look at venues, gowns, and everything else and then realizing that it is out of budget. It would be much easier to have a ballpark of how much money is available for the celebration.

This would all be fine and dandy but I've been having trouble with my fiancÚ's parents. They think it is too soon to start talking money and putting money down. My fiance has explained to them that we are not thinking about putting money down yet we, I, would just like a budget so I know what I can eliminate from my files. But they cannot give an amount nor a ballpark of about how much. They just say that they would like to contribute. Am I getting annoyed over nothing? I understand they might not know now how much they can afford but it would be nice for them to at least let us know what the limit is.

So, my question is how am I suppose to deal with trying to set a budget if I'm being told that they will contribute but cannot give me a number? Am I over analyzing it?

On a side note, when would be a good time to start putting money down on a venue? How far in advance?

Please don't think that I'm a selfish person after reading this. I am just very detailed and not having this detail is driving me crazy.

Thanks in advance to all who respond!

:)

~ Stephanie