best savings option?

Online Users: 0 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 8

darkchild24 Posts : 196 Registered: 9/1/06
best savings option?
Posted: Jan 16, 2010 10:22 PM

So, I was sitting here wondering, and as I did a quick Google search, I got to thinking more.

What's the best method in saving money to use towards wedding expenses? Like savings accts. vs. CD's, etc. I'm going to be setting up some kind of savings plan soon, and I'd like to know what the best route to go. Thanks!

auntofthebride Posts : 9,354 Registered: 4/2/06
Re: best savings option?
Posted: Jan 16, 2010 11:15 PM Go to message in response to: darkchild24

Dear DC,

The interest you get on various consumer accounts (CDs, savings accts, etc) is pretty miserable these days. You won't get rich from the interest, believe me. I have a checking account where I earned a whopping eleven cents in interest last month.

I am a financial analyst and work with financial planners. I know something about saving money.

In my opinion, the BEST way to save money, for a young person just starting out, is to have it automatically deducted from your paycheck. That way you never see it. You never get used to it being there. You learn to live on what is left. It's kind of like tax withholding and other deductions.

Next, put it in an account that is "difficult" for you to get to. In other words, maybe set up a savings account at a credit union that is separate from your regular bank accounts. This means to get money out, you would have to go into the credit union and get a check or cash, rather than just pull out a debit card or do an online transfer.

Think about your goal (wedding), the time of the goal (W-Day) and the time you need the money (the months leading up to W-Day for deposits, etc and W-Day itself).

Next, look at how many paychecks you have between now and then. Divide and see how much you need to save out of each paycheck. Set up the automatic transfer and let the savings build "effortlessly".