Fiance moved out 5 months before the wedding

Online Users: 1,319 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 13

MichelleRenee303 Posts : 8 Registered: 3/2/09
Fiance moved out 5 months before the wedding
Posted: Jan 2, 2010 3:49 AM

Okay. I'm new to this whole message board thing, but I'm desperate. My fiance and I were supposed to get married on May 1st, 2010. I had my dress, we had the resort booked in Jamaica, and the reception place booked. He was very enthusiastic and gun-hoe about everything.

Then the last few months things have been extremely stressful for both of us. There were financial problems, I didn't like the area I was living in or Nic's new job, and it was causing a lot of tension between us. We started arguing a LOT. I figured it was just a phase and we could work through it. I guess he didn't. He started to withdraw and after a few days of thinking about what to do, he told me that even though he didn't want to, he felt like he had no choice but to leave.

We broke our lease and both moved back home to our parents' houses. Basically I'm devastated. I feel like my whole world has been tipped upside down. He still tells me he loves me everyday and wants to be "exclusive" but doesn't want to make anything official. He says it's too soon (it's been 3 weeks) to jump right back in together. We still talk and hang out and sleep together. I'm so confused. I realize we're young (we're both 20) and I think he doesn't want to miss out on being a kid. I just don't get the whole one-foot-in-the-door thing. He's told me I need to do what I need to for myself, and I've been hanging out with a guy friend, but then he gets mad about it.

Has anyone gone through a broken off engagement? How did you make it through?! I had so many plans and it feels like everything's falling apart. I'm dreading May 1st. I'm dreading having to deal with breaking all the plans. I'm crushed and I feel like I'm not gonna get through this.

Help?

auntofthebride Posts : 9,354 Registered: 4/2/06