Is a "dream" worth a fight with the FH?

Online Users: 1,305 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 9

LilTuffGirl Posts : 301 Registered: 11/4/08
Is a "dream" worth a fight with the FH?
Posted: Dec 14, 2009 6:14 PM

I have ALWAYS wanted to be a police officer. I did go through the police academy in North Carolina when I was younger but I got screwed over and went through it all for nothing.

Well latley I've been wanting to change what I do for a living. I really can't stand EMS anymore. I've applied at doctors offices since it's a quick job and might be something i'm interested in since I do enjoy the medical side of things. But with some talk from friends and fellow police officers (I'm also a 911 dispatcher) I've decided to try for the police dream again. I asked DH if he would care if I was a police officer and he siad no....

It's been about a month and i've been putting in applications here and there for a police officer. I've been talking to DH about it all the entire time. Just the other night I told him about applying for State Police and out of no where he says "Don't you have to stay the night at police academy and not come home for like 6 months or so?" I said uhm.. yes but I get to come home on the weekends (i've told him all of this many times before). He then says "no, not going to happen". I'm so shocked I can't say a damn thing I just sit there... then he says "you'd have a cow if I were out of town for that long". (he goes out of town a LOT for his work.. in fact he's away tonight). I said at least this is a one time thing then i'm home from then on out.. With him he's always out of town and will be until he's promoted or finds a better job. He had no answer and he just dropped the subject.