All the "boring" planning no one talks about?

Online Users: 0 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 6

Geekluv Posts : 11 Registered: 12/9/09
All the "boring" planning no one talks about?
Posted: Dec 9, 2009 7:41 PM

Is it just me or is it difficult to find information about the "boring" planning such as changing over health insurance, car insurance, getting the license, changing names, social security, passports, moving information etc? I'm trying to think of all this other stuff I will need to take care of but I'm quite clueless on the when, where, and how of all of these. Any advice would be fantastic, I just wish someone would compile a list of all the other important things that are involved in getting married.

Love isn't hopeless. Look, maybe I'm no expert on the subject, but there was one time I got it right. - Homer Simpson @}----

Vegas2010Bride Posts : 2 Registered: 3/26/09
Re: All the "boring" planning no one talks about?
Posted: Dec 9, 2009 7:52 PM Go to message in response to: Geekluv

I saw this NY Times article posted somewhere and saved it for when I have to do the same:
http://bucks.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/11/13/the-right-way-to-change-your-name/
hope this helps you on your massive paper legal "battle"

in the beginning stages of DIY , so far so good
Bio
Blog & DIY
August 2010

NJ4Life Posts : 3,358 Registered: 8/10/07
Posted: Dec 10, 2009 11:10 AM Go to message in response to: Geekluv

It really all just involves a lot of phone calls. Talk to your HR dept abuot the insurance. And then you will have to call your car insurance company if you want to add him or something. You dont HAVE to add each other to anything though. We didn't for a while...until my car insurance was up, he added me to his policy. It's also a good idea to call your car ins. company and see if it will save you money to add him, or save you money not to. it depends.