DIY Bouquet?

Online Users: 1,342 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 11

annarebeccal Posts : 70 Registered: 7/21/09
DIY Bouquet?
Posted: Sep 15, 2009 9:34 PM

So i'm just curious to see how many other brides are making their own bouquets! Are you using live, silk, or dried flowers? other items you're using? lets see some pictures to inspire those of us who are still planning theirs! thanks ladies!
Photobucket Photobucket

KatieF1486 Posts : 2 Registered: 9/16/09
Re: DIY Bouquet?
Posted: Sep 16, 2009 7:29 AM Go to message in response to: annarebeccal

I am a bridesmaid, but I am making the bouquets for my best friend's wedding. I have been working for a florist for 4 months now, although she has not taught me how to do bouquets. I can still do a clutch bouquet. It's very simple. We are using roses. All ivory ("vendela" is a good ivory rose) for the bridesmaids, a mix of light pink and hot pink for the maid of honor, and all three colors for the bride. All you do is just arrange your flower into a nice presentable bouquet. Buy some floral tape (I've found this at many craft stores, but even walmart sells it for like $3 a pack). Wrap the floral tape around the stems, cut the stems as short as you'd like them, and wrap ribbon (or fabric leftover from hemming/altering the bridesmaids' dresses) around the stems to cover the floral tape. You can hot glue it or even pin it in with corsage pins w/ decorative pearls on the ends. Other things you can do include adding gems/jewels to your bouquets. They are also found at craft stores. You want to find some that are on a wire. You can extend the length of the wire by using another wire and securing it with floral tape. Tip: You have to stretch/pull the floral tape before you put it on whatever you're using it for. Here is a website that offers more "how to's" for just about everything. http://www.save-on-crafts.com/weddingcrafts2.html
Hope this helps!

NessaRae615 Posts : 675 Registered: 9/23/08