Does anyone have experience with an addicted loved one?

Online Users: 1,355 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 15

Addicted2love Posts : 7 Registered: 3/21/07
Does anyone have experience with an addicted loved one?
Posted: Aug 18, 2009 1:12 PM

Hello ladies,
This is my first post. I have been a member for a while now, but I am a lurker. I read from the shadows and take advice from people who don't know they are giving it to me. I guess I'm a little shy of posting (doesn't really make sense, does it? I mean, it's not like you know me or anything. But whatever, it is what it is.) Now, down to business.

I am wondering if anyone here has dealt with addiction themselves or has a loved one with an addiction? I am in need of advice. My FH has had a relapse. He is back in treatment, and going to NA nightly. We have had a very tough year and I am still fairly new to dealing with an addict. I am looking for support and guidance. Maybe a friend that can relate?

I know this is a difficult life I've chosen for myself, and yes, I am choosing it. I cannot give up on somebody I love because they have a problem. We have been together for over 5 years and we were supposed to be married this past June, but have canceled it with hopes to reschedule in the future when we have worked through all of this. It was a very hard thing to do, but also necessary.

I know that I have a slight co-dependency issue that I am working on as well. I don't get out as much as I could, but I am by no means a hermit. I have a tendency to connect my personal happiness to that of others around me. It is a bit too easy for another person's mood to effect my own. I am getting much better about this.
In an effort to keep this short, I'm going to end this here. I would love to find someone to talk with who understands where I am and maybe has some words of wisdom?

Thanks in advance.

kennysoldwife Posts : 3,859 Registered: 4/28/07
Re: Does anyone have experience with an addicted loved one?