Makeup trial - advice needed!

Online Users: 1,266 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 5

Marte Posts : 22 Registered: 7/29/07
Makeup trial - advice needed!
Posted: Jul 19, 2009 5:45 AM

I don't wear a lot of makeup usually and have only recently discovered nice makeup (I used to buy mine at H&M). I don't want to pay someone to do my makeup on the big day for several reasons:

1. It's expensive.
2. I'm afraid it will look too much.
3. I'm not that fuzzed about my makeup.

So instead I have decided to purchase some nice makeup and do it myself. Today I decided to give it a trial run. The producs I used were: primer, concealer under the eyes, powder, blusher, eye shadow, eyebrow gel, mascara, lipgloss. This is about seven more products than I usually wear!

Here is the before photo:

And here is the after photo:

What do you expert ladies think? Remember that I am a novice!

I really will appreciate any feedback given, good or bad. :-)

CatStandish Posts : 2,766 Registered: 6/20/08
Re: Makeup trial - advice needed!
Posted: Jul 19, 2009 10:38 AM Go to message in response to: Marte

I am one that does not wear a lot of make up (you can read that to mean that I usually walk around without it) So I do understand 'natural look'

You look pretty without it, so it's not something you NEED on a regular basis...but you do look a little washed out.

Get a nice foundation -- I recommmend hitting Sephora for them to help you match your tone. I bought "CoverFX" for mine. It's light (and not itchy, heavy, "god I have to rub this crap off my face immediately"). (Can you tell how much I adore foundation?) CoverFX is a compressed mineral powder. Do NOT get loose mineral powder for this as it adds a shimmer (good) which will be kinda reflective/shiny in your photos (bad). What I like about the CoverFX is that I can add a little more in trouble areas without it looking cakey on that area or me having to add a lot in all areas to compensate for the trouble spot and make it look balanced.