Relationship books?

Online Users: 1,313 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 7

chicochik Posts : 236 Registered: 10/16/08
Relationship books?
Posted: Feb 19, 2009 3:26 PM

I have looked into pre-maritial counselling and in my area it is about $100/hr. I am currently a student and FH does not make alot of money, so that is quite a stretch for us. As well, since we are not religious and do not belong to any church, having a minister provide counselling is not an option for us. Anyways, we have come up with a compromise and have decided that we will have a couple of sessions( about 1 a month for 6 months or so) and suppliment with books. I was wondering if any ladies knew of any good books that may address some problems that arise in marriage?

Our main areas of focus would be:

-how to fight "nice" or come up with solutions for our problems in the healthiest way
-how to organize finances
-marrying young
-keeping things spicy, especially in the sack

If anyone could reccomend some good books to help us out, that would be greatly appreciated. Some workbooks with activities would be great as well.

JessyNChris Posts : 120 Registered: 4/3/08
Re: Relationship books?
Posted: Feb 19, 2009 6:48 PM Go to message in response to: chicochik

I know a perfect book for you and your FH. It covers everything you want to discuss with your FH. I actually gave this book to my FH this Christmas because I want him to start talking to me about this stuff. It's called "The 10 Conversations You Must Have Before Getting Married (And How to Have Them)" by: Dr. Greg Grenier. It talks about how to have conversations in the begining of the book.In the back of the book, it has a checklist.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting  Waiting to be Mrs. Styskal 

CheetahAngel Posts : 2,017 Registered: 11/29/08
Posted: Feb 20, 2009 8:00 AM Go to message in response to: chicochik