My Anti-Recession Plan

Online Users: 1,295 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 45

ginmal Posts : 396 Registered: 1/11/08
Re: My Anti-Recession Plan
Posted: Feb 20, 2009 12:43 PM Go to message in response to: carebearny1999

I have been doing something similar for quite a few months now...only I do breakfast muffins...I make bannana nut, applebran...etc. And a REALLY cheap way to make great muffins is to follow a basic muffin recepie..(ie...flour, sugar, baking powder, milk) and add jarred baby foods for extra moisture and flavor...it works GREAT and is so cheap. I also make batches of "breakfast barritos" (potatoes, sausgae, egg, and cheese) all cooked together, then rolled in flour tortia...I put them in the freezer to be heated up for breakfast in the am. Simple, healthier, and MUCH cheaper than store bought versions. I have also been buying meats in bulk at sams, turning off the a/c during the day (I am in south Fla), got rid of all extras on our landline...basic phone ONLY, and I have been using LOTS of cupons. I grocery shop on Sundays now (instead of Saturdays like I used too) right after reading all the ads in the Sunday paper.

Bless your own day, leave mine alone!Innocent

Bride2008 Posts : 3,058 Registered: 3/28/06
Posted: Feb 20, 2009 1:51 PM Go to message in response to: ginmal

Gin - would you mind PMing me the muffin recipe that you use? I would love to try making it.

DH and I made simple changes. When we buy cereal, we buy the store brand and whichever one is on sale. We aren't picky enough to make it worth it to spend on the fancy stuff.

We also stock up on things like meat and frozen veggies when they are on sale. We walk to all of our local errands not to spend money on gas.

Don't make me go Brooklyn on you. I have brass knuckles and I know how to use them.

P.O.O.P.E.R. - People Offended by Offended People Executive Recruiter

mrsJLA Posts : 445 Registered: 5/25/08
Posted: Feb 20, 2009 2:10 PM Go to message in response to: Bride2008