Should I be impatient?

Online Users: 1,275 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 7

Morgan1981 Posts : 1 Registered: 11/7/08
Should I be impatient?
Posted: Nov 7, 2008 3:46 PM

Hello, I am new to brides.com.  I have been reading a bunch of what other people have said about waiting to be engaged.  I am in a similar boat except that I have no idea what my BF is waiting on.  We are both 27, out of college, have good jobs, stable households and are financially independent.  We have been together for almost three years and living together for about a year a half.  A bunch of our friends got married this year and last year and I was at first in no hurry and not paying much attention to the fact that we're not engaged yet.  Recently though, I have started having these feelings about our wedding and how much I want it now.  I never thought I would ever feel this ready but now I am starting to wonder what exactly he is waiting for.  We have talked about our wedding and even our kids but still no engagement.  Am I just being impatient or do I have reason to wonder?  My family and friends aren't helping the situation, constantly asking why he hasn't done it and that "everyone else has taken the plunge".  I just don't know how I feel right now. Any advice would be great, thank you!

MrsMaldonado Posts : 2,852 Registered: 3/7/07
Re: Should I be impatient?
Posted: Nov 7, 2008 3:52 PM Go to message in response to: Morgan1981

Hi Morgan!
Welcome to Brides.Com!
Ok, so you've been with your boyfriend long enough & you guys also live together. Your first step is to talk to him & see exactly what he has in store for the both of you. You will never know what he is thinking until you ask. You want to know if marriage or even engagement is in the near future & you do have a right to know. So go for it & see what he says. Of course, because how you word it because if he is not ready yet, the last thing you want to do is scare him away.

Just married!

September 27, 2008