Contract Employment...what do you think??

Online Users: 0 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 9

ChrissLady Posts : 1,352 Registered: 4/5/06
Contract Employment...what do you think??
Posted: Apr 15, 2008 7:15 AM

Ok, so my former boss called me last night, and asked would I come back and do some contract work for them.  For those who don't know or don't remember, I switched jobs in February.  I am a cost analyst and was a cost analyst at my previous employer.  The previous job was extremely challenging but also extremely stressful.  My current job just doesn't have the same appeal.  So contract employment with my previous employer would give me a chance to feel like my work matters, and it will bring extra money into the house.  Here's the problem...my previous job is 80 miles one way.  I currently work 4 10 hour days and sometimes overtime on Friday.  My husband is worried I may overextend myself, even though we just got into an argument about money Friday.  If I decide to take this job, what should be parts of the contract?  Mileage reimbursement, pay (per hour or flat rate?equal to my previous salary or higher?, etc...  I can't claim the mileage on my taxes because I would not be leaving one job going straight to another.  Also, I would only be working 1 maybe 2 days a week, depending on my current job.  I just want to get some outside opinions before I call my former boss back.  Oh and just for the record both companies are manufacturing, only one makes paper and the other makes fork lift trucks.  Thanks for your help.

WWW.MYWEDDING.COM/CHRISTOPHERANDMONICA

KateS Posts : 208 Registered: 7/14/06
Re: Contract Employment...what do you think??
Posted: Apr 15, 2008 8:01 AM Go to message in response to: ChrissLady

Interesting day to be asking this question!  Tax day!