Questions about the pill

Online Users: 1,307 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 34
Questions about the pill
Posted: Jul 16, 2006 4:57 PM

I have never used the pill before, and my doctor just prescribed Yasmin.  We went over all the important questions about side effects and everything, but I forgot to ask her a few things, and I hope you all can help me out.

1) Is it OK to have sex while you're on the placebo pills during the 4th week, or should you use a condom?

2) Is it OK to skip a period by skipping the placebo pills and going right to the next pack of active pills?  (I think I might need to do this to aviod having a period on my wedding day!)

3)  How common is the breakthrough bleeding?  My doctor told me it's not all that common, but I'm curious about how many of you who are on Yasmin experienced it when you first started out on the pills.  (I really hope I don't have any bleeding on my wedding night!  Yikes!)

Thanks a lot!  I really feel like I should know this stuff, but like I said, the pill is all new to me!

RomanticGirl Posts : 777 Registered: 3/28/06
Re: Questions about the pill
Posted: Jul 16, 2006 5:00 PM Go to message in response to: Guest

I'm on yasmin. I personally do not feel comfortable with skipping periods. I know that's common these days to skip the placebos, and i know that the "period" you get on birth control is supposedly fake anyway, but I feel that there must be something cleansing for the uterus about having a period. But that's just my own instinct.

It's fine to have sex on the fourth week. No condom neccessary.

Never had breakthrough bleeding.

I will add that I really want to come off this pill. It's a low dose, but it's still screwing with my hormones... low sex drive, and i've started getting night sweats!!!(a symptom of menopause.... which makes me worried my hormones are getting really screwed up.) But yasmin has few side effects (but a low libido is a serious thing). You may not have the same experience as me though.