my puppy died

Online Users: 1,346 guest(s), 0 user(s). Replies: 10
my puppy died
Posted: Apr 15, 2006 4:58 PM

i am so upset.  i had a 4 month old maltipoo, Rocky...my mom came and picked him up last saturday to keep him while we went on vacation, and she called me sunday and told me that he died.  the vet said he went into a diabetic coma.  she said he was playing too hard (my mom has a puppy too and they loved to play together) and got too excited, i guess didnt get enough food and water and collapsed.  has anyone ever heard of this?  i hadnt, but i guess its one of those freak things.  but i really didnt miss him too much on vacation, because he wasnt supposed to be there, but now that we are back i am so upset cause he's supposed to be here happy and playing!

Re: my puppy died
Posted: Apr 15, 2006 5:34 PM Go to message in response to: Guest

Ok, I'm a registered veterinary technician. What your puppy died from was a condition called hypogylcemia. It's very common in very small dogs and pups. Is what happens is that they need to eat alot more than a larger dog does to keep their glucose levels from dropping to low, once that happens they need alot and I mean alot of care. They have to be force fed, or even a feeding tube put in. However, if they get immediate care alot of them can pull through it, but it does take some time for them to recover. It can also be a recurring condition if not controlled. 

Posted: Apr 15, 2006 6:36 PM Go to message in response to: Guest

Oh, sweetie, I am so sorry. My own dog died 3 weeks ago today, so I completely understand where you're coming from. It really hurts, especially when he was so young.  A huge hug from me. I know you won't feel better for awhile, but I hope you do. Every day helps!

Posted: Apr 16, 2006 1:25 AM Go to message in response to: Guest

Aww...I'm really sorry to hear that.  hugs!

Posted: Apr 16, 2006 10:06 AM Go to message in response to: Guest